University of Houston Team

Principal Investigator

Jose Luis Contreras-Vidal

Jose Luis Contreras-Vidal Ph.D.

Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor

Director, UH NSF IUCRC BRAIN

jlcontreras-vidal@uh.edu


Co-Principal Investigators

Jeff Feng

Jeff Feng, Ph.D

Associate Professor of Architecture and Design, Medical Device Design

ffeng@uh.edu


Graduate Students

Alexander Craik

Alexander Craik MSEE

Doctoral Candidate, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Graduate Research Assistant

arcraik@uh.edu


Juan Jose Gonzalez Espana

Juan Jose Gonzalez Espana, MSEE

PhD Student, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Graduate Research Assistant

jgonz220@central.uh.edu


Ayman Alamir

Ayman Alamir, MS

PhD Student, Biomedical Engineering

Graduate Research Assistant

asalamir@uh.edu


Suochun Fang

Suochun Fang, BE

Master's Student, College of Architecture and Design

Graduate Research Assistant

sfang8@uh.edu


REU Students

Wong

Sarah Wong

University of Houston

Undergraduate - Industrial Design

2022 REU Program

sjwong3@central.uh.edu


David Edquilang

David Edquilang

University of Houston

Undergraduate - Industrial Design

2021 REU Program

david.edquilang@gmail.com


Carolina Ramirez

Carolina Ramirez

Texas A&M University

Undergraduate - Biomedical Engineering

2021 REU Program

carol.ramirez@tamu.edu


Jacob Tajchman

Jacob Tajchman

University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Undergraduate - Sensorimotor Neurotechnology

2021 REU Program

jacob.tajchman@gmail.com


Niell Gorman

Niell Gorman

University of Houston

Undergraduate - College of Architecture and Design

2020 - 2021

nbgorman@uh.edu


Kameron Moore

Kameron Moore

Arizona State University

Undergraduate, Biomedical Engineering and Spanish Linguistics

2020 REU Program

kjmoore8@asu.edu


Edgar Guzman

Edgar Guzman

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

Undergraduate, Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering

2020 REU Program

erguzman@cpp.edu

Marianna Zanovello

Marianna Zanovello

University of Houston

Undergraduate, Mechanical Engineering

2019 REU Program

mlzanovello@uh.edu


Annaleise Gray

Annaleise Gray

University of Houston

Undergraduate, College of Architecture and Design

2019 REU Program

annaleisegray@gmail.com


Kristin Schmidt

Kristin Schmidt

University of Virginia

Undergraduate, Mechanical Engineering

2019 REU Program

khs4jv@virginia.edu


Robert Sutherland

Robert Sutherland

University of Southern California

Undergraduate, Electrical Engineering

2019 REU Program

rfsuther@usc.edu


Undergraduate International Trainee

Oziel Román Cantú López

Oziel Román Cantú López

Universidad de Monterrey (Mexico)

Undergraduate, Biomedical Engineering

oziel.cantu@udem.edu



Undergraduate Researchers

Maryam Tahir

Maryam Tahir

University of Houston

Undergraduate, Electrical Engineering

2020 Independent Study

maryam5000tah@gmail.com


Antoinette Louw

Antoinette Louw

University of Houston

Undergraduate, College of Architecture and Design

ant@louw.org


High School Interns

Chloe Beaudreau

Chloe Beaudreau

Carnegie Vanguard High School

2021 High School Internship Program

chloebeaudreau@gmail.com


Vinay Mannem

Vinay Mannem

The Academy of Science and Technology at the Woodlands College Park High School

2020 High School Internship Program

v.mannem99@gmail.com


Ruofan Liu

Ruofan Liu

Carnegie Vanguard High School

2019-2020 High School Internship Program

rliu17@uh.edu


University of Texas Health Science Center (UTHealth)

Principal Investigator

Gerard Francisco

Gerard Francisco, MD

Chairman and Professor, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth)

Director, NeuroRecovery Research Center

Chief Medical Officer, TIRR Memorial Hermann

gerard.e.francisco@uth.tmc.edu


Co-Investigator

Shuo-Hsiu Chang

Shuo-Hsiu Chang, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

shuo-hsiu.chang@uth.tmc.edu

Harmonic Bionics, Inc

Youngmok Yun

Youngmok Yun, PhD

Chief Executive Officer/Cofounder

mok@harmonicbionics.com


National Instruments

Igor Alvarado

Igor Alvarado

Business Development Manager for Academic Research

igor.alvarado@ni.com

Austin, TX


Past Collaborators

Brian Shedd

Brian Shedd

Director of Technology Commercialization

Office of Technology Transfer and Innovation(OTTI)

bshedd@central.uh.edu